For anyone who follows me on Twitter, you know when the ruling of “obstruction” was called as the last play of a World Series game, I was pretty fired up about it.

As a diehard Sox fan, I still cannot understand how a fielder laid out to try and catch a ball, is pushed down and then has a baserunner trip over him, is called for obstruction.

From what I hear, I’m wrong. So to take my emotions out of it, here’s a “clear” explanation of the obstruction rule and why it was ruled last night during the Redsox/Cardinals World Series game.

Ya know, if logical and rational arguments are your thing.