USWNT goal disallowed vs. Nigeria. (It was definitely a goal.)

The United States women’s national team seemingly scored a quick goal in their final group match against Nigeria when Abby Wambach and Julie Johnston caught Nigeria out of position.

But… whoops! The side judge called offsides even though it wasn’t offsides. Story of our lives.

To be fair to the side judge, she had an unimpeded view to the ball, there were few players around, and the Nigerian defender was clearly side-by-side with Abby Wambach. Oh, and let’s not mention the clear handball in the box for Nigeria.

Thanks to @SBNation and @ben_jata for getting the good camera angles.

Read More